Atlanta, GA Feb 7-9, 2020 at the Yaraab Shrine Center

Artwork for t-shirt, nametags and trophies by Brandon Ross

Festival report by Charles Shapiro

AJC article with 15 photos

Photos of the 2020 festival by Joyce Howard

Videos of the 2020 festival by Andrew Austin, Official Videographer

Videos of the 2020 festival by others

Yaarab Shrine Tyler - Marshall Patton



Director - Spencer Schwab

Combat Director - Lao Alovus

Games Winners

  • 3-Ball Simon Says - Kyle Brown (NC) - 30 competitors
  • Blind Juggling - Andrew Kaefer (NJ) - 24 competitors
  • Quarters - Andrew Kaefer (NJ) - 25 competitors
  • Club Balancing - Lucy Eden (Atlanta GA) - 20 competitors
  • Club Crown - Paul Yates (Atlanta GA) - 22 competitors
  • 7-Club Passing - Max Poff and Gerry Daher (Atlanta GA) - 18 competitors
  • Huggling - Ted Joblin (Nashville TN) and Max Poff (Atlanta GA) - 20 competitors
  • Club Combat - Max Poff (Atlanta GA)
  • Ball Combat - Andrew Kaefer (Maplewood NJ)



Director - Dan Howard

Judges Wrangler - Kelly Hoyt

Timer - Paul Yates

Judges - Misty, Nico and Thea

Stage Manager - Richard Kennison

Sound - Craig Lewis, Sem Abrahams & Hal Baird

Raffle MC - Shivella Schwab

The Pitch (Hat) - Jay Jones


  • Chris Chung (Detroit MI)
  • Lucy Eden (Atlanta GA)
  • Chuck Clark (Allen Park MI)
  • LilyRuth Mamary and Scott Raison (Philadelphia PA)
  • Keith McNeil (Atlanta GA)
  • Aidyn LaFlamme (Cleveland OH)
  • Nikolai Marshall (Highland Park NJ)
  • Pam Harrod (Hapeville GA)
  • Andrew Kaefer (Maplewood NJ)
  • Nash Abrahams (Livonia MI)

2020 PHIL award winners

2020 PHIL Groundhog trophy winners

  • Gravity Slayer - Andrew Kaefer
  • Most Enlightning - Scott Raison and LilyRuth Mamary
  • Most Illuminating - Nash Abrahams
  • CoachZilla - Richard Kennison (has coached 21 PHIL award winners)



Director - Bruce Plott

Sound - Craig Lewis, Dan Howard, Hal Baird, Sem Abrahams

Backdrop by Circus Camp and Greg McMahan

MC - Cate Great Flaherty

  • Larry Vee - unicycling, hooping, juggling clubs, balancing
  • Jenny Juggler (Jennifer Oberhauser) and Clara Jane - singing, skating and poi
  • Humorology Atlanta (Meredith Gordon, Tim Settimi and Ron Anglin) & Jenny Juggler - singing and playing ukelele
  • Justin Wood Circus with Joyce Kung - comedy with slinky and chairs
  • Sem, Teresa and Nash Abrahams - unicycling and juggling clubs
  • Kenny Toombs - contact juggling
  • Jonathan Perry - crowd participation with club juggling 
  • Scott Raison - hooping
  • Jim Maltman - clowning with balls, hats, rolla bola and ladder
  • DrewBob Ford presents Mouse Award to Brandon Ross
  • Ted Joblin - diabolo



Vendors and Sponsors

  • Circus Camp
  • The Complete Fool
  • Face painting by Brandon Ross, Anne Rohr and Leah Rainy
  • Wallace Howard (donated 13 IJA memberships)
  • Chuck Lazarow (donated nametags, wristbands and posters)
  • Flying Clipper
  • Food Vendor selling chicken, beef and vegetarian dishes, rice, drinks and snacks


More Festival Volunteers

It was great having so many volunteers helping put on the festival!

Trophies - Walter Beals and Spencer Schwab

Registration - Shivella Schwab, Jen Jackman, Jenny Paradis-Hager, Justin Mullins, Sarah Reed, Dan Howard, Austin Childs

Treasurer - Jay Jones

Transport, Setup and Takedown Helpers - Austin Childs, Don Lewis, Rick Purtee, Charles Shapiro, Graham Daniel, Justin Mullins, Andrew Austin, Amanda Miller, Alan Alovus, Lao Alovus, Jay Jones, Jen Jackman, Patrick Peacock and too many others to list

Publicity - Ray Stern and all those who shared and liked on social media

Website, social media and emails - Joyce Howard

Festival Booklet - Andrew Austin, Keith Watson, Joyce Howard

Vendors Coordinator - Justin Mullins

Raffle - Justin Mullins, Shivella Schwab

Maté and Snacks - Bruce Plott, Randy Fenster, Ray Stern, Kelly Hoyt, Jenny Paradise-Hager and many others

Water and cups - Ray Stern

Kids Korner & Historians - Ray, Pat & Rachel Stern, volunteers from Johns Creek High School Diabolo Club

Forms, Signs, Posters - Jenny Paradis-Hager, Andrew Austin, Ray Stern, Jen Jackman, J.C. Sue, Patrick Peacock

Post Festival Dinner Coordinator & Festival Reporter - Charles Shapiro

Workshop Leaders - Brandon Ross, Drew Brown, Sean Tessier, Bruce Plott, DrewBob Ford, Keith McNeil, Lucy Eden, Joyce Howard, Don Lewis, Steve Senesky, Richard Kennison, Justin Mullins

Cabaret Ticket Takers - Amanda Miller and Austin Childs

Hosts for out-of-town Guests - Jimmy Robertson, Bruce Plott, Joyce Howard and others



  • Construction Zone is in back of the room next to the Kids Korner
  • Workshop Area A is on the Stage
  • Workshop Area B is behind the bleachers near the Snack Room